Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Ruling Passion by Alyxandra Harvey

Ruling Passion (Hearts at Stake, Blood Feud and Out for Blood)
by Alyxandra Harvey
Walker & Company
ISBN: 978-0-8027-2802-9
Suggested Ages: 12+
Buy From Indigo

Description
Hearts at Stake: The Drakes are rather different to your usual neighbours. They are vampires and some of the members of the family date back to the twelfth century. One of the children, Solange, is the only born female vampire known and, as such, she poses a direct threat to the vampire queen. Her best friend Lucy is human, and when Solange is kidnapped Lucy and Solange's brother, Nicholas, set out to save her. Lucy soon discovers that she would like to be more than just friends with Nicholas. But how does one go about dating a vampire? Meanwhile, Solange finds an unlikely ally in Kieran, a vampire slayer on the hunt for his father's killer.

Blood Feud:
It's been centuries since Isabeau St. Croix barely survived the French Revolution. Now she's made her way back to the living and she must face the ultimate test by confronting the evil British lord who left her for dead the day she turned into a vampire. That's if she can control her affection for Logan Drake, a vampire whose bite is as sweet as the revenge she seeks.
The clans are gathering for Helena's royal coronation as the next vampire queen, and new alliances are beginning to form now that the old rifts of Lady Natasha's reign have started to heal. But with a new common enemy, Leander Montmarte--a vicious leader who hopes to force Solange to marry him and usurp the 

power of the throne for himself--the clans must stand together to preserve the peace he threatens to destroy. 

Out for Blood: Hunter Wild is the youngest in a long line of elite vampire hunters, a legacy that is both a blessing and a curse at the secret Helios-Ra Academy, where she excels at just about everything. Thanks to her friendship with Kieran Black, Hunter receives a special invitation to attend the coronation of Helena Drake, and for the first time, she sees the difference between vampires that must be hunted and vampires that can become friends-or even more. When students at the academy fall victim to a mysterious illness, Hunter suspects they are under attack from within. She will need someone she can trust to help her save the future of Helios-Ra . . . help that shockingly comes in the form of Quinn Drake, a drop-dead gorgeous vampire. Who said senior year would be easy?

The Good Stuff
  • The dialogue between the characters had me laughing my ass off on so many occasions - almost every chapter of each book in fact
  • Kick ass heroines who don't expect or need a boy to save them
  • Many Whedon references - which as you know is very close to my geeky heart
  • Extremely fast paced and NEVER boring
  • Vampires don't sparkle or go all emo
  • Parents are not stupid or jerks -- and we know that is a big deal in YA fiction -- see authors it can be done
  • Author is Canadian
  • Delightful secondary characters that you are slowly introduced to and given just enough about them that you want to know more -- and maybe have a whole book about - cough cough Mom and Dad Drake -- cough cough lets have a story about kick ass parents
  • Unique take on vampire mythology
  • Lucy is a truly awesome character and I want more of her -- her quips constantly make me giggle
  • Good messages about true friendship and acceptance without being all mushy or condescending
  • Enough all ready just go buy the book most of you will thank me
The Not So Good Stuff
  • This 3 stories in one book idea sounds great -- but so thick it was hard to read - man I have weak wrists
  • People stared on the bus when I snorted out loud with laughter
  • Got extremely confused with the 3 organizations having such similar names and same with all the characters with names starting with H -- OK --  that is probably just because I am brain dead right now and come on I had to find something relevant to put in this section
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Where are the stun --ooon. Shiny."  Hearts at Stake

"And the patchwork skirt I thought I'd lost last year, twisted under a storage box covered in stickers. Yes, even little girls with vampire lineage have a sticker phase." Hearts at Stake

Very possibly this was the night my white-knight complex, as Solange put it, would get me killed. Someone had better write a poem about it. It was only fair.   Blood Feud

How did you know it wasn't really me?"
"Are you kidding? Your eyeballs could be on fire and you wouldn't bat your lashes at me like that.  Blood Feud

"I winced. Vampire mothers had unfair advantages." Out for Blood

"Oh, I'm sorry," Chloe snapped from the backseat. "Did I hurt your knuckles with my face?" Out for Blood

Who Should/Shouldn't Read
  • Fans of Jennifer Estep, Kelley Armstrong, Meg Cabot and Kiersten White will enjoy
  • Fans of anything Whedon will get tons of chuckles and will love this author
4.75 Dewey's

I borrowed this from Tasha and didn't have to review it here -- but I like to share what can I say

    0 comments:

    Post a Comment